Chevron Babyblanket

maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketAfter finishing the big chevron blanket for my sweet daughter, a friend suggested I’d make a small one that would not take so much time, a baby version.
Thinking that a baby blanket would definitely not look as nice in the bulky yarn I used for the big one, I turned to my trusted and colorful cotton supply.
maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketAnother thing I wanted to do differently this time was making all 4 sides straight and so I started looking for a pattern/tutorial on the internet. The choice to buy the talented Rachele’s chevron pattern was quickly made and thus was the beginning of this blanket.
maRRose - CCC: Chevron Babyblanket

Sometimes I do plan the colors I want to use and the order in which each row will be crocheted, but I decided against that now and just played it by ear, one row at a time.
It is something I learned when I made my multicolored striped blanket: when you use a lot of colors, it basically does not really matter what order you put them in for the overall look of the blanket – it will be pretty anyhow.
maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketA small hurdle was the border ….. I have to admit I got a bit carried away at first …..
maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketAlthough I do like the idea I originally worked out (with the light green), I frogged it all. This fun but (too) busy border did not go well with this particular blanket.
maRRose - CCC: Chevron Babyblanket
maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketMuch better, I think ….
maRRose - CCC: Chevron Babyblanket maRRose - CCC: Chevron BabyblanketSome stats:
* the blanket measures 69 x 80 cm
* 23 colors have been used for 20 stripes (plus 2 for the “fillers” and 1 for the border)
* it weighs 450 grams
* I love it …..
maRRose - CCC: Chevron Babyblanket              maRRose - CCC: Chevron Babyblanket
Sometimes less is more!

Love,
Marianne

9 thoughts on “Chevron Babyblanket

    • Hi Ingrid! Thanks for your lovely compliment! Wip-control is tough for us crocheters isn’t it? I love your Harlequin blanket and your Fenna-shawl as well: both very pretty! Happy crocheting! Marianne xx

      Like

  1. Darling Marianne, another stunning example of your never ending inspiring creativity. I absolutely love it. What a great idea to make all sides straight too. Much love and big hugs, Heike xx

    Like

  2. Hi Marianne, what a colourful blanket! It is a cheerful composition of colours and your border is just perfect. Have a nice evening, Viola

    Like

Leave a comment